Wakulla 4-H Installs New Youth and Volunteer Leadership for 2018-19 Program Year

Crawfordville, FL – On Thursday, May 5 close to 60 youth and community members gathered in the Wakulla Extension Livestock Arena for a dinner catered by The Seineyard to celebrate the 2017-2018 Wakulla 4-H program year and install the new 2018-2019 leaders. The 4-H program year operates on a 12-month calendar that begins with the start of the new school year in August and leadership will serve through May 2019.

Youth were recognized with awards for their accomplishments in horse and poultry shows, the North Florida Fair, and service to their clubs and the Wakulla community. Club leaders Becton Roddenberry and Phyllis Dunaway were honored with a special presentation to recognize their service to 4-H.

4-H student members were installed to serve on the 4-H County Council with a candle light pinning ceremony. The newly installed student officers included President – Madden Metcalf, Vice President – Alexis Isaacs, Secretary – Brooklyn Isaacs, Treasurer – Mattie Harrell, Historian – Mekayla Robbins, Club Delegate Representative—Adrienne Murray. The 4-H County Council officers will provide leadership for all the 4-H Clubs in Wakulla County and will also received advanced leadership training throughout their year of service.

The Wakulla 4-H Association elected new officers for the 2018-2019 term. These adult community volunteer leaders will serve in the following roles: Chairperson – Becton Roddenberry, Vice Chairperson – Eddie Metcalf, Secretary – Samantha Isaacs, Treasurer – Lori Harrell. The newly elected officers will provide leadership to support 4-H club activities and fundraising to support 4-H youth programming in Wakulla County.

Advisory Council Board Members named for the 2018-2019 year were also recognized during the evening’s program. The following leaders will serve as 4-H ambassadors throughout the Wakulla County community: Honorable Jared Miller, Wakulla County Sheriff; Honorable Brad Harvey, Wakulla County Property Appraiser; Honorable Verna Brock, Wakulla County School Board; Honorable Becton Roddenberry, Sopchoppy City Commissioner; Mrs. Quincee Messersmith, Legislative Consultant; Ms. Shana Langston, AVP, Branch Manager, Ameris Bank; Mr. Greg James, Wakulla County Finance Director and Chief Deputy Clerk; and Mr. Padraic Juarez, Florida Department of Health Administrator. Greg James and Quincee Messersmith will serve as chair and vice chair to lead the Advisory Council.

The following community sponsors were also recognized during the evening for their generous support of Wakulla 4-H: Wakulla Men’s Association, Mike’s Feed Store, Wakulla Carpet Brokers, Wakulla Sheriff’s Office, Honor the Badge, Air Con of Wakulla, Greg James, and Thurman Roddenberry Associates.


Posted: May 24, 2018

Category: 4-H & Youth, Community Volunteers, Events, Relationships & Family, UF/IFAS, UF/IFAS Extension, UF/IFAS Research, , Work & Life
Tags: 4-H, Advisory Council, Board Members, Educational, Family Youth & Community Sciences, Florida, Wakulla 4-H, Wakulla County, Wakulla County Extension, Wakulla Extension

Subscribe For More Great Content

IFAS Blogs Categories