The Florida Senate made some changes to the Florida Cottage Food exemptions under the Home Sweet Home Act. As of today, July 1, 2021, you can earn up to $250,000 in gross sales under the Florida Cottage Food Exemption. The exemption used to be up to $50,000 in gross sales. The increase in gross sales update is perfect for individuals whose unemployment benefits are ending this month due to businesses closed due to COVID-19. Individuals can start a home-based food business by preparing and selling approved cottage food products.
Well, you might ask yourself, “How can someone sell food from their home?” “What about food safety? There are some foods that are most likely to become unsafe, called TCS foods. These foods require time and temperature control for safety. Cottage food products are not TCS foods, which means they are not potentially hazardous. There are a few more things you need to know about cottage foods.
1. A cottage food operation is a person who produces or packages food products at his or her residence and sells such products in accordance with Section 500.80 ( Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services, Division of Food Safety).
2. Sign up for a webinar to learn all of the updates: https://bit.ly/CottageFoodUpdate