UF Term Professorships Awarded to 38 from UF/IFAS

GAINESVILLE, Fla. — The University of Florida selected 38 UF/IFAS faculty members for its most recent UF Term Professorships.

The program was created by the provost as a way to reward the outstanding contributions of UF tenure-track or permanent-status faculty members with five or more years of service at UF. Awardees are selected based on their scholarly achievements, national awards and contributions to their college.

The UF/IFAS awardees represent a range of areas of expertise and locations in Florida, making evident its diversity. By department, the recipients are:

UF/IFAS department of agricultural education and communication
  • Nicole Stedman, professor and associate chair
  • Andrew Thoron, associate professor
  • Laura Warner, associate professor


UF/IFAS agronomy department
  • Kevin Kenworthy, professor
  • Dennis Odero, assistant professor based at the Everglades Research and Education Center (REC) in Belle Glade


UF/IFAS department of animal sciences
  • John Driver, associate professor
  • Jose Santos, associate professor


UF/IFAS entomology and nematology department
  • Adam Dale, assistant professor
  • James Ellis, professor
  • Daniel Hahn, professor
  • Phillip Kaufman, professor
  • Oscar Liburd, professor
  • Christine Miller, associate professor
  • Kirsten Pelz-Stelinski, associate professor based at the UF/IFAS Citrus REC (CREC) in Lake Alfred
  • Hugh Smith, assistant professor based at the UF/IFAS Gulf Coast REC (GCREC) in Balm
  • Lukasz Stelinski, professor based at CREC


UF/IFAS environmental horticulture department
  • S. Christopher Marble, assistant professor based at the UF/IFAS Mid-Florida REC (MREC) in Apopka


UF/IFAS department of family, youth, and community sciences
  • Victor Harris, associate professor


UF/IFAS food science and human nutrition department
  • Michelle Danyluk, professor based at CREC


UF/IFAS horticultural sciences department
  • Fred Gmitter, Jr., professor based at CREC
  • Mark Settles, professor and program director
  • Xin Zhao, associate professor
  • Lincoln Zotarelli, assistant professor


UF/IFAS microbiology and cell science department
  • Jamie Foster, professor based at the Space Life Sciences Lab, Kennedy Space Center
  • Graciela Lorca, professor
  • Zhonglin Mou, professor


UF/IFAS plant pathology department
  • Megan Dewdney, associate professor based at CREC
  • Svetlana Folimonova, associate professor
  • Natalia Peres, professor based at GCREC


UF/IFAS School of Forest Resources and Conservation
  • Don Behringer, associate professor
  • Jiri Hulcr, associate professor


UF/IFAS soil and water sciences department
  • Andrew Ogram, professor


UF/IFAS wildlife ecology and conservation department
  • Robert Fletcher, professor
  • Frank Mazzotti, professor based at the UF/IFAS Fort Lauderdale REC in Davie
  • Debbie Miller, professor based at the UF/IFAS West Florida REC in Milton
  • Elizabeth Pienaar, associate professor


Additionally, two UF/IFAS Extension agents received the recognition. The Provost’s Office-funded program was not originally created to consider Extension permanent-status faculty, but Jack Payne, senior vice president for agriculture and natural resources, has each year approved UF/IFAS funding to recognize Extension faculty.

From UF/IFAS Extension Alachua County
  • Cindy Sanders, county Extension director and livestock Extension agent


From UF/IFAS Extension Duval County
  • Stephanie Toelle, family and consumer sciences Extension agent


The three-year award provides an annual salary supplement of $5,000 and began at the start of the 2019-20 academic year.


Posted: October 14, 2019

Category: UF/IFAS
Tags: Awards And Recognitions, UF Term Professor, UF Term Professorships

Subscribe For More Great Content

IFAS Blogs Categories