Skip to main content

4-H Task Force Appointed by UF/IFAS Dean of Extension

4-H Task Force Appointed by UF/IFAS Dean of Extension

In accordance with a signed Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) related to the sale of the Langley Bell 4-H property, Dr. Nick Place, UF/IFAS Dean of Extension, appointed twelve local residents to a 4-H Task Force in Escambia County.  Via the MOU, it was agreed that a task force would study the needs of the local 4-H Youth Development program by evaluating options to complement the new 4-H facility to be built on Stefani Road. The first meeting of the task force is scheduled for December 5, 2012 at 4:00 pm at the Escambia County Extension Office, 3740 Stefani Road, Cantonment, FL.  The first hour will be open to the public as the task force receives its charge and reviews its task.

The task force was formed as a result of an application process and the members selected are representative of the multiple interests and concerns related to the issues and opportunities for the UF/IFAS Extension 4-H program in Escambia County.  Appointed members to the 4-H Task Force include:

Brian Bell, Jimmy Cunningham, Whitney Fike, Robert McLaughlin, Eli Miller, Rebekah Mobley, David Nielson, Anne Peterson, Sharon Tanner, Dave Timberlake, Dana Tyler, Stacey Ward.

During the next six months, the task force will develop viable options that may be considered to meet the animal science, natural resources, and outdoor education needs of the UF/IFAS Extension 4-H Youth Development Program in Escambia County.  According to the MOU, the Dean will use the information provided by the task force to make a decision that is in the best interests of the overall 4-H program in the county.

The University of Florida’s Institute of Food and Agricultural Sciences (UF/IFAS) is a federal-state-county partnership dedicated to developing knowledge in agriculture, human and natural resources, and the life sciences, and enhancing and sustaining the quality of human life by making that information accessible.