Tag: Entomology and Nematology

Overfertilizing St. Augustinegrass Could Encourage Chinch Bugs, UF Researcher Warns

By: Tom Nordlie – (352) 273-3567 Sources: Eileen Buss – (352) 392-0400 Fred Baxendale – fbaxendale1@unl.edu, (402) 472-8699 View Photo GAINESVILLE, Fla. — A little fertilizer can perk up a St. Augustinegrass lawn as spring arrives, but homeowners… Read More

Largest butterfly in Western Hemisphere needs help to avoid extinction, UF experts say

By: Tom Nordlie (352) 392-0400 Source(s): Tom Emmel tcemmel@ufl.edu, 352-494-7402 Matt Lehnert mlehnert@ufl.edu, 352-870-4002 Eric Garraway eric.garraway@uwimona.edu.jm, 876-977-7470 View Photo GAINESVILLE, Fla. — The Homerus swallowtail is the Western Hemisphere’s largest butterfly, but University of Florida researchers say… Read More

Of maggots and murder – UF researcher says sleuths need new way to estimate time of death

By: Tom Nordlie (352) 392-0400 Source(s): Susan Gruner savethemaggots@cox.net, 352-514-5006 Dan Slone dslone@usgs.gov, 352-264-3551 Jeffery Tomberlin jktomberlin@ag.tamu.edu, 979-845-9718 James Cooney III jcooney@wcsr.com, 704-331-4980 View Photo GAINESVILLE, Fla. — Blow fly maggots are one of the best tools forensic… Read More

Arsenic-Absorbing Fern May Soak Up Toxic Metal to Repel Hungry Bugs, UF Researchers Say

View Photo GAINESVILLE, Fla. — In the struggle for survival, plants are often at the mercy of hungry animals – but one fern has turned the tables by using poisonous arsenic to reduce its appeal, say University of… Read More

New mosquito-borne illness may be headed to United States, UF experts say

By: Tom Nordlie (352) 392-0400 Source(s): Walter Tabachnick wjt@ufl.edu, 772-778-7200 ext. 124 Roxanne Connelly crr@ufl.edu, 772-778-7200 ext. 172 Stephen Higgs sthiggs@utmb.edu, 409-747-2426 View Photo GAINESVILLE, Fla. — The next mosquito-borne illness in the United States may be chikungunya… Read More