Category: Natural Resources

UF Studies Show Home Buyers Like ‘Green’ Features but May Not Understand Green Living

View Photo GAINESVILLE, Fla. — Home buyers appreciate the benefits of “green” communities, but residents don’t necessarily lead more eco-friendly lives than their neighbors in traditional homes, according to two University of Florida studies conducted in the fast-growing… Read More

Long-term artificial reef project may break grouper ‘bottleneck,’ UF researcher says

By: Mickie Anderson (352) 392-0400 Source(s): Bill Lindberg wjl@ufl.edu, 352-392-9617 Jon Dodrill jon.dodrill@myfwc.com, 850-922-4340 View Photo GAINESVILLE, Fla. — One of the country’s biggest and longest-running artificial reef research projects is about to widen its scope, and the… Read More

Largest butterfly in Western Hemisphere needs help to avoid extinction, UF experts say

By: Tom Nordlie (352) 392-0400 Source(s): Tom Emmel tcemmel@ufl.edu, 352-494-7402 Matt Lehnert mlehnert@ufl.edu, 352-870-4002 Eric Garraway eric.garraway@uwimona.edu.jm, 876-977-7470 View Photo GAINESVILLE, Fla. — The Homerus swallowtail is the Western Hemisphere’s largest butterfly, but University of Florida researchers say… Read More

UF to release parasitic fly to combat “evil weevil” destroying native bromeliads

By: Tom Nordlie (352) 392-0400 Sources: Ron Cave rdcave@ufl.edu, 772-468-3922 Howard Frank jhfrank@ufl.edu, 352-392-1901 ext. 128 Howard Frank dennis.giardina@dep.state.fl.us, 239-695-4593 View Photo GAINESVILLE, FLA — The free ride is almost over for the “evil weevil” destroying Florida’s native… Read More

Invasive Cuban tree frogs threaten native wildlife, damage utilities, says UF expert

By: Tom Nordlie (352) 392-0400 Source(s): Steve Johnson tadpole@ufl.edu, 813-757-2273 Steve Perkins steve.perkins@lakelandelectric, 863-834-8873 View Photo GAINESVILLE, Fla. — North Florida residents accustomed to tiny tree frogs may feel jumpy – a giant Cuban species has colonized half… Read More