Category: Natural Resources

Arsenic-Absorbing Fern May Soak Up Toxic Metal to Repel Hungry Bugs, UF Researchers Say

View Photo GAINESVILLE, Fla. — In the struggle for survival, plants are often at the mercy of hungry animals – but one fern has turned the tables by using poisonous arsenic to reduce its appeal, say University of… Read More

New mosquito-borne illness may be headed to United States, UF experts say

By: Tom Nordlie (352) 392-0400 Source(s): Walter Tabachnick wjt@ufl.edu, 772-778-7200 ext. 124 Roxanne Connelly crr@ufl.edu, 772-778-7200 ext. 172 Stephen Higgs sthiggs@utmb.edu, 409-747-2426 View Photo GAINESVILLE, Fla. — The next mosquito-borne illness in the United States may be chikungunya… Read More

Relocating ‘nuisance bears’ may do more harm than good, UF study shows

Source(s): Kim Annis kimannis@ufl.edu, 352-846-0643 Mel Sunquist sunquist@ufl.edu, 352-846-0566 View Photo View Photo GAINESVILLE, Fla. — For decades, state wildlife officials have been trapping and relocating so-called “nuisance bears” that get too close to humans. But a new… Read More

Cultured coral could help repair damaged reefs, UF scientists say

By: Tom Nordlie (352) 392-0400 Source(s): Craig Watson caw@ifas.ufl.edu, 813-671-5230 Lauri MacLaughlin lauri.maclaughlin@noaa.gov, 305-852-7717 ext. 27 Ryan Czaja rczaja@flaquarium.org, 813-273-4000 ext. 4237 Kathy Kilgore kjheym@ifas.ufl.edu, 813-671-5230 ext. 114 Christine Small Christine.Small@MyFWC.com, 850-410-0656 ext. 17285 View Photo GAINESVILLE, Fla…. Read More

New UF partnerships help solve growth management issues in Florida

By: Chuck Woods (352) 392-0400 Source(s): Tom Ankersen ankersen@law.ufl.edu, 352-273-0835 Larry Arrington lra@ufl.edu, 352-392-1761 Jim Cato jccato@ufl.edu, 352-392-5870 Robert Jerry jerryr@law.ufl.edu, 352-392-9238 Pierce Jones ez@energy.ufl.edu, 352-392-8074 View Photo GAINESVILLE, FLA. — Finding realistic and equitable legal solutions to… Read More

Genetic modification turns plant virus into delivery vehicle for green-friendly insecticide, say UF researchers

By: Tom Nordlie (352) 392-0400 Source(s): Dov Borovsky – contact Tom Nordlie at: tnordlie@ufl, 352-392-0400 Charles Powell capowell@ifas.ufl.edu, 772-468-3922 ext. 123 View Photo GAINESVILLE, Fla. — A plant-destroying virus farmers call one of their worst enemies may soon… Read More