Category: Conservation

Long-term artificial reef project may break grouper ‘bottleneck,’ UF researcher says

By: Mickie Anderson (352) 392-0400 Source(s): Bill Lindberg wjl@ufl.edu, 352-392-9617 Jon Dodrill jon.dodrill@myfwc.com, 850-922-4340 View Photo GAINESVILLE, Fla. — One of the country’s biggest and longest-running artificial reef research projects is about to widen its scope, and the… Read More

Largest butterfly in Western Hemisphere needs help to avoid extinction, UF experts say

By: Tom Nordlie (352) 392-0400 Source(s): Tom Emmel tcemmel@ufl.edu, 352-494-7402 Matt Lehnert mlehnert@ufl.edu, 352-870-4002 Eric Garraway eric.garraway@uwimona.edu.jm, 876-977-7470 View Photo GAINESVILLE, Fla. — The Homerus swallowtail is the Western Hemisphere’s largest butterfly, but University of Florida researchers say… Read More

Relocating ‘nuisance bears’ may do more harm than good, UF study shows

Source(s): Kim Annis kimannis@ufl.edu, 352-846-0643 Mel Sunquist sunquist@ufl.edu, 352-846-0566 View Photo View Photo GAINESVILLE, Fla. — For decades, state wildlife officials have been trapping and relocating so-called “nuisance bears” that get too close to humans. But a new… Read More

Cultured coral could help repair damaged reefs, UF scientists say

By: Tom Nordlie (352) 392-0400 Source(s): Craig Watson caw@ifas.ufl.edu, 813-671-5230 Lauri MacLaughlin lauri.maclaughlin@noaa.gov, 305-852-7717 ext. 27 Ryan Czaja rczaja@flaquarium.org, 813-273-4000 ext. 4237 Kathy Kilgore kjheym@ifas.ufl.edu, 813-671-5230 ext. 114 Christine Small Christine.Small@MyFWC.com, 850-410-0656 ext. 17285 View Photo GAINESVILLE, Fla…. Read More

New UF partnerships help solve growth management issues in Florida

By: Chuck Woods (352) 392-0400 Source(s): Tom Ankersen ankersen@law.ufl.edu, 352-273-0835 Larry Arrington lra@ufl.edu, 352-392-1761 Jim Cato jccato@ufl.edu, 352-392-5870 Robert Jerry jerryr@law.ufl.edu, 352-392-9238 Pierce Jones ez@energy.ufl.edu, 352-392-8074 View Photo GAINESVILLE, FLA. — Finding realistic and equitable legal solutions to… Read More