Category: Conservation

UF Research Shows Termite Damage Cuts Insulation Values by Nearly 75 Percent

By: Chuck Woods Sources: Phil Koehler – pgk@ufl.edu, (352) 392-2484 Roberto Pereira – rpereira@ufl.edu, (352) 392-2326 Cynthia Tucker – ctucker@ufl.edu, (352) 392-2326 View Photo GAINESVILLE, FLA. — Termites aren’t just out to eat the wood in your home…. Read More

UF Studies Show Home Buyers Like ‘Green’ Features but May Not Understand Green Living

View Photo GAINESVILLE, Fla. — Home buyers appreciate the benefits of “green” communities, but residents don’t necessarily lead more eco-friendly lives than their neighbors in traditional homes, according to two University of Florida studies conducted in the fast-growing… Read More

Long-term artificial reef project may break grouper ‘bottleneck,’ UF researcher says

By: Mickie Anderson (352) 392-0400 Source(s): Bill Lindberg wjl@ufl.edu, 352-392-9617 Jon Dodrill jon.dodrill@myfwc.com, 850-922-4340 View Photo GAINESVILLE, Fla. — One of the country’s biggest and longest-running artificial reef research projects is about to widen its scope, and the… Read More

Largest butterfly in Western Hemisphere needs help to avoid extinction, UF experts say

By: Tom Nordlie (352) 392-0400 Source(s): Tom Emmel tcemmel@ufl.edu, 352-494-7402 Matt Lehnert mlehnert@ufl.edu, 352-870-4002 Eric Garraway eric.garraway@uwimona.edu.jm, 876-977-7470 View Photo GAINESVILLE, Fla. — The Homerus swallowtail is the Western Hemisphere’s largest butterfly, but University of Florida researchers say… Read More

Relocating ‘nuisance bears’ may do more harm than good, UF study shows

Source(s): Kim Annis kimannis@ufl.edu, 352-846-0643 Mel Sunquist sunquist@ufl.edu, 352-846-0566 View Photo View Photo GAINESVILLE, Fla. — For decades, state wildlife officials have been trapping and relocating so-called “nuisance bears” that get too close to humans. But a new… Read More