Skip to main content

Category: Pests & Disease

UF Research Shows Termite Damage Cuts Insulation Values by Nearly 75 Percent

By: Chuck Woods Sources: Phil Koehler – pgk@ufl.edu, (352) 392-2484 Roberto Pereira – rpereira@ufl.edu, (352) 392-2326 Cynthia Tucker – ctucker@ufl.edu, (352) 392-2326 View Photo GAINESVILLE, FLA. — Termites aren’t just out to eat the wood… Read More

Overfertilizing St. Augustinegrass Could Encourage Chinch Bugs, UF Researcher Warns

By: Tom Nordlie – (352) 273-3567 Sources: Eileen Buss – (352) 392-0400 Fred Baxendale – fbaxendale1@unl.edu, (402) 472-8699 View Photo GAINESVILLE, Fla. — A little fertilizer can perk up a St. Augustinegrass lawn as spring… Read More

UF to release parasitic fly to combat “evil weevil” destroying native bromeliads

By: Tom Nordlie (352) 392-0400 Sources: Ron Cave rdcave@ufl.edu, 772-468-3922 Howard Frank jhfrank@ufl.edu, 352-392-1901 ext. 128 Howard Frank dennis.giardina@dep.state.fl.us, 239-695-4593 View Photo GAINESVILLE, FLA — The free ride is almost over for the “evil weevil”… Read More

New mosquito-borne illness may be headed to United States, UF experts say

By: Tom Nordlie (352) 392-0400 Source(s): Walter Tabachnick wjt@ufl.edu, 772-778-7200 ext. 124 Roxanne Connelly crr@ufl.edu, 772-778-7200 ext. 172 Stephen Higgs sthiggs@utmb.edu, 409-747-2426 View Photo GAINESVILLE, Fla. — The next mosquito-borne illness in the United States… Read More